Today is Just Not My Day: Day 347

Ever have a day where you just really struggled. Or a week? Or a month? Or longer? That’s been me for the last few months. I’ve been struggling with the momentous thought, “Is this what I really want to do for the rest of my life?” I don’t just mean career. I mean routine. Get up, go to work at a desk for 8 hours a day to turn around and go back home. Pay bills. Feel continually exhausted. Work harder then you ever thought possible but still feel as if the dreams you are trying to pursue just don’t get the attention they need. Or deserve. It’s beyond frustrating, and I know many people feel the same way I do. So how do we cope? How do we change our situation? What if we can’t? What do we do then?
I’ve been mulling over these questions and how to address them for some time now. I still don’t have the answers. But I do know a few things that have helped me in this time of struggle, and I thought I would pass them along. Maybe they’ll help. And if they do, share them with someone else you know is struggling too.
1. Give.
I know this seems contradictory. When you are going through a time of struggle you want to be helped, not the other way around. But trust me, even if it doesn’t lift your mood/stress level at all (even though I guarantee it will) you will be benefitting someone else’s life while you struggle, whose struggles are possibly far different or greater then yours. Whether it’s money, love, or time, giving is a great commodity to help in tough times.
2. Go Outside and Move
Again, probably not something you want to do when times are hard. The fetal position in bed sounds much more accommodating, but trust when I say just moving – a walk in the park or just down the driveway can do wonders to help lighten your spirit.
3. Vent
Talk with love ones. Your partner, the dog walker, the barista at Starbucks. Go home and visit grandma. (Totally doing this one this weekend FYI). Vent to those that you know and that care. Talk it out. A lot of times a good vent session can get you to the route of your struggle, and more times then not…. Your struggle is not even routed where you think it is. Have a chat, a good cup of coffee, and brainstorm solutions.
4. Give Yourself A Break. Seriously.
Hubs had to have a come to Jesus this week with me about the above statement. You are not perfect. You never will be. And that’s okay. We all deserve a dose of self love and that reminder every now and then. You are good enough. Forgive and love yourself. The struggle bus will come and go, but you are you faults and all. Love yourself. Be okay with you. You will gets through this.

Little Man is feeling the struggle of bedtime...
Little Man is feeling the struggle of bedtime…
